Evidence summaries on fasting and metabolic health

fasting.com

Cited guides to fasting basics, intermittent fasting, water-only fasting, and the fasting-mimicking diet.

Medical caution

This is general information about fasting, not medical advice. Fasting can affect blood sugar, blood pressure, medication timing, and nutritional status. Talk to a clinician before starting or changing a fasting practice if you are pregnant, under 18, living with diabetes or another chronic condition, taking prescription medication, or have a history of an eating disorder.

The Short Answer

Three separate claims get grouped together under "does fasting cause autophagy," and the human evidence treats them differently. Daily intermittent fasting and time-restricted eating, patterns like 16:8, have not been shown to reliably trigger autophagy in humans: the one study that measured actual autophagy activity in this kind of protocol found no significant increase within the fasting group, and only an exploratory between-group difference against standard care (Bensalem et al., 2025) [1], and marker-based studies disagree with each other in direction. Longer, multi-day fasting shows a somewhat more consistent, though still unconfirmed, signal: marker changes line up a little better than in daily-fasting studies, and the only documented rise in measured autophagy activity from unsupplemented fasting alone, among the studies reviewed here, came from a multi-day fast, in one blood-cell type, under specific lab conditions. The fasting-mimicking diet has two small, short human trials that were designed to look for an autophagy effect, and both reported a positive signal, one as a direct flux measurement, though one of those trials was funded by L-Nutra, Inc., the diet's commercial manufacturer. None of this evidence connects any of these approaches to a specific, measured human health outcome from inducing more autophagy.

What Autophagy Is

Autophagy, from the Greek for self-eating, is a basic cellular process: a cell breaks down and recycles its own damaged proteins and worn-out components. It is well documented in animal research and runs at some background level in humans all the time. This page does not re-explain the full background on what autophagy is or how it was discovered; see what is fasting for a short overview and autophagy and fasting for the full, study-by-study review of how human autophagy research is done and what it measures. This page instead compares what the evidence shows across three different fasting approaches: daily intermittent fasting, longer fasting, and the fasting-mimicking diet.

Why "Does Intermittent Fasting Cause Autophagy" Isn't a Yes/No Question

Almost none of the human research on this question measures autophagy directly. Most studies instead check an indirect marker: the level of a protein such as LC3 or p62, or the activity of an autophagy-related gene, in a blood draw or small muscle sample. A marker moving in the expected direction is a signal consistent with more or less autophagy, not a direct reading of it, and different markers, tissues, and sampling times can point in different directions within the same study. Only a couple of studies among the human fasting trials reviewed on this site measured the actual rate autophagy runs, known as autophagic flux, and both needed a specialized method that is not available from a simple blood test. See autophagy and fasting for the full explanation of this measurement problem and a study-by-study walkthrough of every fasting length tested in humans; this page focuses on what the evidence shows when it is grouped by fasting method instead.

Daily Intermittent Fasting and Time-Restricted Eating: What the Human Evidence Shows

The closest thing to a direct test of whether a daily intermittent fasting pattern raises autophagy comes from a randomized trial of 121 adults with obesity assigned to standard care, calorie restriction, or intermittent fasting combined with a daily eating window, for six months, with autophagic flux measured in blood immune cells. Flux did not rise significantly from baseline within the fasting group. It differed significantly from the standard-care group at six months, but only in an analysis the study's own authors describe as exploratory, and the authors note that part of the gap may reflect flux tending to fall in the standard-care group rather than a confirmed rise in the fasting group (Bensalem et al., 2025) [1]. This trial combined intermittent fasting with a daily eating window rather than testing a plain 16:8 schedule alone, so treat it as the closest available human evidence for an intermittent-fasting-style protocol, not a direct test of 16:8 specifically.

Marker-based studies of shorter, more 16:8-like protocols disagree with each other. In a 4-day crossover trial of 11 overweight adults comparing a short early eating window with a longer control window, the autophagy-related gene LC3A was higher in the early-eating group, but so was MTOR, a gene for a protein that generally restrains autophagy, measured at a different time of day in the same study; the authors describe their own finding as only showing that the schedule "may also increase autophagy" (Jamshed et al., 2019) [2]. In 10 healthy males, muscle samples taken across two supervised fasts found autophagy and mitophagy marker proteins were, if anything, non-significantly reduced, not increased, with no change in the ratio researchers use to track autophagosome buildup (Islam et al., 2021) [3]. In 50 women who completed 8 weeks of repeated fasts on 3 non-consecutive days a week, closer to an alternate-day pattern than daily 16:8, autophagy markers in muscle were not raised overall: one marker rose after a single fast, but several autophagy-related genes fell, which the authors attribute, as more likely, to weight loss rather than to autophagy itself; in the same paper's mouse experiments, the fasting pattern raised liver autophagy markers but not muscle (Chaudhary et al., 2022) [4]. Ramadan fasting, dawn-to-dusk and excluding water as well as food, is a different daily protocol from ordinary time-restricted eating; one study found one autophagy-related gene higher and two other markers lower in blood cells by the end of the fasting month, with no non-fasting comparison group (Dastghaib et al., 2025) [5], and another found three autophagy-related genes higher, also with no non-fasting comparison group (Bou Malhab et al., 2025) [6]; neither measured autophagic flux.

Put together, the popular claim that a daily fasting window such as 16:8 reliably triggers meaningful autophagy in humans is not established. The one study that measured actual autophagy activity in an intermittent-fasting protocol found no significant increase within the fasting group, only an exploratory between-group difference, and the marker-based studies disagree with each other in direction. This is closer to "no confirmed effect" than to a settled myth-bust in either direction: the evidence shows an absence of proof, not proof of absence.

Does Fasting Longer Change the Picture?

Marker movement is somewhat more consistent in studies of longer, multi-day fasts than in the daily-fasting studies above, though still not confirmed and still inconsistent by tissue and marker. In human volunteers who fasted for several days, a rise in autophagic flux in white blood cells was detectable only when the cells were cultured, outside the body, with and without a drug that blocks the final breakdown step, and only in one white-blood-cell type, neutrophils, among those studied; this is the clearest flux-based result for unsupplemented human fasting outside the fasting-mimicking diet trials covered below, and it is narrow: one cell type, under specific lab conditions (Pietrocola et al., 2017) [7]. In 8 healthy men who fasted, muscle levels of the autophagosome marker LC3B-II rose by about 30%, but p62, a protein that autophagy normally clears, also rose by about 10%; the study's own authors say this makes the result "problematic" to interpret, since a clean rise in autophagic clearance should not come with a rise in a protein autophagy is supposed to remove (Vendelbo et al., 2014) [8]. In trained and untrained adults who fasted, autophagy marker proteins in muscle fell rather than rose, and only in the untrained group; the authors' own summary describes muscle autophagy as only modestly affected (Dethlefsen et al., 2018) [9]. A separate study of a water-only fast found higher levels of autophagy-related genes and proteins in white blood cells, an expression finding rather than a measurement of flux (Qian et al., 2021) [10]. A 2026 pilot study that put 5 adults through a water-only fast did not measure autophagy directly at all; it inferred a metabolic environment the authors describe as consistent with autophagy, and called for future studies to add direct autophagy markers, a reminder that even a recent, purpose-built longer-fasting study did not actually measure the thing in question (Lauc et al., 2026) [11].

Longer fasting is a real evidence gradient, somewhat more signal than daily intermittent fasting carries, but it falls well short of an established, settled effect: results disagree by tissue and marker, one key result is explicitly called problematic by its own authors, and the clearest flux result in this group is narrow and lab-dependent. For more on what multi-day water-only fasting does more broadly, see prolonged fasting and water-only fasting.

Where the Fasting-Mimicking Diet Fits In

The fasting-mimicking diet is the only approach on this page with human trials designed specifically to test its effect on autophagy, and that evidence is still small and short. Two separate small trials, both designed to look for a fasting-mimicking-diet effect on autophagy, report a positive signal. In a pilot trial of 30 healthy adults assigned to one of two fasting-mimicking diet formulations or their usual diet for 8 days, researchers measured autophagic flux directly in blood cells using the same rigorous method family used in the longer-fasting research above, and found a significant difference between groups in flux from baseline to day 6; the authors state plainly that differences were not significant across all time points, and describe the work as a pilot that needs a larger sample to confirm (Espinoza et al., 2026) [12]. This trial was funded by L-Nutra, Inc., the manufacturer of the fasting-mimicking diet products tested, and two of its co-authors are L-Nutra employees; the paper's own competing-interest statement declares none, and the funding statement says the funder did not participate in the study's conduct, data collection, or analysis. In a separate randomized trial of 46 healthy adults comparing a lower-protein and a higher-protein 7-day fasting-mimicking diet against a non-intervention control, the paper's own conclusion states plainly that both versions "induced autophagy at the molecular level"; the published abstract does not specify which marker drove that conclusion, so this page does not name one (Burns et al., 2025) [13]. That trial's lead sponsor was a university, with a commercial company involved as a collaborator and three co-authors employed by companies involved in the project (two by the collaborating company, one by a laboratory company), as disclosed in the paper; the remaining authors report no conflicts.

Two of the foundational trials behind the fasting-mimicking diet more broadly have a senior author with an equity stake in the company that makes a commercial version of the diet, a tie already disclosed on this site's dedicated fasting-mimicking diet pages. Neither of those two foundational papers measured human autophagy directly, so this page does not cite them as autophagy evidence; the autophagy-specific evidence for the fasting-mimicking diet is the two trials above. For general background on what a fasting-mimicking diet is and the wider research on it, see what is a fasting-mimicking diet and fasting-mimicking diet research.

Put together, the fasting-mimicking diet has two purpose-built trials with a positive signal, which is more targeted evidence than exists for daily intermittent fasting or unsupplemented longer fasting, but it rests on two small, short trials, one of them funded by the product's own manufacturer, and it is not evidence that the diet works better for autophagy than fasting itself.

Why the "X Hours for Autophagy" Number You've Seen Doesn't Hold Up

Searches about intermittent fasting and autophagy often expect a specific number: a certain hour count after which autophagy is said to switch on. No citation reviewed for this page, for any of the three approaches above, gives a reliable hour count or day count at which autophagy reliably begins in humans, and this page does not invent one. Much of the specific hour-based framing seen elsewhere traces back to research in animals, not people: a frequently cited study found a dramatic increase in neuronal autophagy in mice after short-term food restriction (Alirezaei et al., 2010) [14]. That is mouse tissue, measured with methods built for mouse tissue, and it says nothing about a specific human timeline. Broader literature reviews describe fasting as inducing autophagy and mitophagy across a wide range of tissues and species, in terms the reviews themselves call overwhelming, but those reviews synthesize findings across animals and humans together and do not isolate a daily-intermittent-fasting-specific human finding or timeline (Bagherniya et al., 2018 [15]; Mehrabani et al., 2020 [16]). The honest summary: autophagy is a real, well-established cellular process, robustly triggered by fasting in animal models, and plausibly active in humans at some point during a fast, but the human evidence disagrees on direction, duration, and tissue closely enough that no source, including this one, can responsibly give a specific hour number.

What This Doesn't Mean

Nothing on this page claims that intermittent fasting, longer fasting, or a fasting-mimicking diet cures, treats, or prevents any disease, slows aging, or produces a specific measured health outcome in humans by way of autophagy. None of the studies above instruct fasting longer, or following a fasting-mimicking diet, specifically to "unlock" autophagy; even where the evidence leans toward a signal, as it does for the fasting-mimicking diet, no citation reviewed here connects that signal to a specific, measured human health outcome. Treat autophagy as a cellular process under active research, not as a settled, outcome-linked reason to choose one fasting method over another.

Authors and Funding of the Cited Studies

  • Bensalem et al., 2025 [1]: no competing-interest statement was retrieved for this page.
  • Jamshed et al., 2019 [2]: "The authors declare no conflict of interest." Funded by the National Institutes of Health and The Obesity Society.
  • Islam et al., 2021 [3]; Chaudhary et al., 2022 [4]; Dastghaib et al., 2025 [5]; Bou Malhab et al., 2025 [6]; Pietrocola et al., 2017 [7]; Vendelbo et al., 2014 [8]; Dethlefsen et al., 2018 [9]; Qian et al., 2021 [10]; Alirezaei et al., 2010 [14]; Bagherniya et al., 2018 [15]; Mehrabani et al., 2020 [16]: no competing-interest statement was retrieved for this page.
  • Lauc et al., 2026 [11]: the paper's funding statement names several supporting institutions, two of which are also co-authors' own institutional affiliations; its separate competing-interest statement declares none.
  • Espinoza et al., 2026 [12]: Min Wei and William Hsu are listed with an L-Nutra, Inc. affiliation. Funding statement: "This work was supported by L-Nutra, Inc. L-Nutra, Inc. did not participate in the conduct of the study, data collection, or analysis." The abstract adds: "This clinical trial was sponsored by L-Nutra Inc." Competing interests: "The authors declare no competing interests."
  • Burns et al., 2025 [13]: Trial registry (NCT06560996): lead sponsor University of Nottingham, collaborator Chenot Group, HC International SA. The paper's competing-interest statement: "GCG and ADM are employees of HC International SA, Weggis, Switzerland, during the project. GF is an employee of labor team w ag, Goldach, Switzerland, during the project. The other authors report no potential conflicts of interest."

Disclosures are listed where the full text of the paper was available to us or is already recorded on this site's autophagy and fasting-mimicking diet pages; a study not listed here, or listed without a disclosure, is not a statement that its authors have no ties.

Safety and Cautions

This is general information, not medical advice. The evidence on fasting and autophagy in humans is new, indirect in most studies, and inconsistent across fasting methods, study by study. Nothing on this page is medical or dosing guidance for how long to fast or which program to follow. Talk to a clinician before starting or extending any fast, or before trying a fasting-mimicking diet, if you are pregnant, under 18, have a history of an eating disorder, or manage diabetes or blood pressure with medication.

What the evidence actually supports

Daily intermittent fasting (such as 16:8): Not established. The one study that measured actual autophagy activity, not just a marker, in an intermittent-fasting protocol found no significant increase within the fasting group over six months, and a between-group difference against standard care that its own authors call exploratory (Bensalem et al., 2025) [1]. Marker-based studies disagree with each other in direction (Jamshed et al., 2019 [2]; Islam et al., 2021 [3]; Chaudhary et al., 2022 [4]).

Longer, multi-day fasting: Partly supported, and still not confirmed. Marker changes are somewhat more consistent than in daily-fasting studies, and the only documented rise in measured autophagy flux from unsupplemented fasting among the studies reviewed here came from a multi-day fast, but only in one white-blood-cell type under specific lab conditions (Pietrocola et al., 2017) [7], and a separate muscle result is called "problematic" to interpret by its own authors (Vendelbo et al., 2014) [8].

A fasting-mimicking diet: Partly supported, from a small base. This is the only one of the three approaches where both trials that looked for an autophagy effect were designed for that purpose. Two separate small, short trials that looked for an autophagy effect in people on a fasting-mimicking diet both reported a positive signal, one as a direct flux measurement and one as a molecular-level signal whose marker the published abstract does not name (Espinoza et al., 2026 [12]; Burns et al., 2025 [13]). Both trials are short and small; one was funded by L-Nutra, Inc., the diet's commercial manufacturer.

No citation reviewed for this page gives a reliable hour count or day count at which autophagy begins for any of these approaches, and no citation connects autophagy induction by any of these methods to a specific, measured human health outcome.

Where the studies disagree

The within-study tensions matter as much as the between-study disagreements. The one trial measuring actual autophagy activity in an intermittent-fasting protocol found no significant within-group rise over six months, and its own authors call their favorable between-group comparison exploratory (Bensalem et al., 2025) [1]. A short early-eating trial found an autophagy-related gene up, but also found a gene that generally restrains autophagy up at a different time of day in the same study (Jamshed et al., 2019) [2]. A muscle-biopsy study found autophagy markers non-significantly reduced, not increased, across two supervised short fasts (Islam et al., 2021) [3]. An 8-week trial of repeated fasts found one marker rise alongside a fall in several other autophagy-related genes, which its authors attribute, as more likely, to weight loss than to autophagy induction, and the same paper's mouse experiments raised autophagy markers in liver but not muscle (Chaudhary et al., 2022) [4]. In the longer-fasting evidence, a muscle result from a multi-day fast is explicitly called problematic by its own authors, since a protein autophagy normally clears rose alongside the autophagosome marker that was meant to show autophagy increasing (Vendelbo et al., 2014) [8], and a 2026 pilot study of a multi-day fast did not measure autophagy directly at all, only inferring a metabolic environment the authors describe as consistent with it (Lauc et al., 2026) [11]. In the fasting-mimicking diet evidence, the flux result comes from a trial funded by L-Nutra, Inc., the diet's commercial manufacturer, with two of its co-authors employed by L-Nutra, and its own authors state plainly that the result was not significant across every time point measured (Espinoza et al., 2026) [12]; a second trial's own conclusion states plainly that both versions of the diet it tested induced autophagy at the molecular level, but the published abstract does not specify which marker drove that conclusion (Burns et al., 2025) [13]. None of this is evidence that any of these three approaches has no effect on autophagy in humans; it is evidence that no approach has a clean, confirmed, direction-consistent effect established yet.

References

  1. Bensalem J, Teong XT, Hattersley KJ, Hein LK, Fourrier C, Dang LVP, Singh S, Liu K, Wittert GA, Hutchison AT, Heilbronn LK, Sargeant TJ (2025). Intermittent time-restricted eating may increase autophagic flux in humans: an exploratory analysis. Journal of Physiology. PMID 40345145 doi:10.1113/JP287938 Finding: limited evidence
  2. Jamshed H, Beyl RA, Della Manna DL, Yang ES, Ravussin E, Peterson CM (2019). Early Time-Restricted Feeding Improves 24-Hour Glucose Levels and Affects Markers of the Circadian Clock, Aging, and Autophagy in Humans. Nutrients. PMID 31151228 doi:10.3390/nu11061234 Finding: limited evidence
  3. Islam H, Amato A, Bonafiglia JT, Rahman FA, Preobrazenski N, Ma A, Simpson CA, Quadrilatero J, Gurd BJ (2021). Increasing whole-body energetic stress does not augment fasting-induced changes in human skeletal muscle. Pflügers Archiv - European Journal of Physiology. PMID 33420549 doi:10.1007/s00424-020-02499-7 Finding: no effect found
  4. Chaudhary R, Liu B, Bensalem J, Sargeant TJ, Page AJ, Wittert GA, Hutchison AT, Heilbronn LK (2022). Intermittent fasting activates markers of autophagy in mouse liver, but not muscle from mouse or humans. Nutrition. PMID 35660501 doi:10.1016/j.nut.2022.111662 Finding: contradicts
  5. Dastghaib S, Siri M, Rahmani-Kukia N, Heydari ST, Pasalar M, Zamani M, Mokaram P, Bagheri-Lankarani K (2025). Effect of 30-day Ramadan fasting on autophagy pathway and metabolic health outcome in healthy individuals. Molecular Biology Research Communications. PMID 40028479 doi:10.22099/mbrc.2024.50105.1978 Finding: limited evidence
  6. Bou Malhab LJ, Madkour MI, Abdelrahim DN, Eldohaji L, Saber-Ayad M, Eid N, Abdel-Rahman WM, Faris ME (2025). Dawn-to-dusk intermittent fasting is associated with overexpression of autophagy genes: A prospective study on overweight and obese cohort. Clinical Nutrition ESPEN. PMID 39542136 doi:10.1016/j.clnesp.2024.11.002 Finding: limited evidence
  7. Pietrocola F, Demont Y, Castoldi F, Enot D, Durand S, Semeraro M, Baracco EE, Pol J, Bravo-San Pedro JM, Bordenave C, Levesque S, Humeau J, Chery A, Métivier D, Madeo F, Maiuri MC, Kroemer G (2017). Metabolic effects of fasting on human and mouse blood in vivo. Autophagy. PMID 28059587 doi:10.1080/15548627.2016.1271513 Finding: limited evidence
  8. Vendelbo MH, Møller AB, Christensen B, Nellemann B, Clasen BF, Nair KS, Jørgensen JO, Jessen N, Møller N (2014). Fasting increases human skeletal muscle net phenylalanine release and this is associated with decreased mTOR signaling. PLoS One. PMID 25020061 doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0102031 Finding: limited evidence
  9. Dethlefsen MM, Bertholdt L, Gudiksen A, Stankiewicz T, Bangsbo J, van Hall G, Plomgaard P, Pilegaard H (2018). Training state and skeletal muscle autophagy in response to 36 h of fasting. Journal of Applied Physiology. PMID 30161009 doi:10.1152/japplphysiol.01146.2017 Finding: contradicts
  10. Qian J, Fang Y, Yuan N, Gao X, Lv Y, Zhao C, Zhang S, Li Q, Li L, Xu L, Wei W, Wang J (2021). Innate immune remodeling by short-term intensive fasting. Aging Cell. PMID 34705313 doi:10.1111/acel.13507 Finding: supports
  11. Lauc G, Brlek P, Bulić L, Šimunić Briški N, Šimunović J, Duvnjak Orešković I, Butumović L, Marjanović D, Klarić D, Petrović A, Tesla Frcko J, Primorac D (2026). Systemic metabolic, hormonal, and glycomic remodeling during a 72-hour fast in healthy adults: a pilot study. Croatian Medical Journal. PMID 42286908 doi:10.3325/cmj.2026.67.226 Finding: limited evidence
  12. Espinoza SE, Park S, Connolly G, Qi W, Zhang N, Semwal M, Li Y, Lauzon M, Salmon AB, Hsu W, Wei M, Musi N (2026). Effect of fasting-mimicking diet on markers of autophagy and metabolic health in human subjects. GeroScience. PMID 41372565 doi:10.1007/s11357-025-02035-4 Finding: limited evidence
  13. Burns L, Cooper S, Sarmad S, Funke G, Di Mauro A, Gaitanos GC, Tsintzas K (2025). Effects of fasting-mimicking diets with low and high protein content on cardiometabolic health and autophagy: A randomized, parallel group study. Clinical Nutrition. PMID 40816210 doi:10.1016/j.clnu.2025.08.004 Finding: supports
  14. Alirezaei M, Kemball CC, Flynn CT, Wood MR, Whitton JL, Kiosses WB (2010). Short-term fasting induces profound neuronal autophagy. Autophagy. PMID 20534972 doi:10.4161/auto.6.6.12376 Finding: limited evidence
  15. Bagherniya M, Butler AE, Barreto GE, Sahebkar A (2018). The effect of fasting or calorie restriction on autophagy induction: A review of the literature. Ageing Research Reviews. PMID 30172870 doi:10.1016/j.arr.2018.08.004 Finding: supports
  16. Mehrabani S, Bagherniya M, Askari G, Read MI, Sahebkar A (2020). The effect of fasting or calorie restriction on mitophagy induction: a literature review. Journal of Cachexia, Sarcopenia and Muscle. PMID 32856431 doi:10.1002/jcsm.12611 Finding: limited evidence